Osceola takes seven weight classes, win district title

  • Wrestling

As expected, Osceola’s wrestlers are district champions again.

The Kowboys won seven weight classes and advanced two others in scoring 183.5 points to win the Class 3A, District 5 Championship on Saturday. The Kowboys will host regionals on Saturday, with the top four wrestlers in each weight class earning a spot in the state tournament March 6-7 at Osceola Heritage Park.

About the only surprise for Osceola came at 132-pounds, where Jaekus Hines – a pre-season favorite to win a state championship – took a forfeit medical loss in the championship match against Plant City’s Brenton Ruedeman.

As the second place finisher in the weight class, Hines still advanced to regionals and Head Coach Jim Bird said the injury was minor and Hines should be able to compete next week.

“He should be OK to go,” Bird said. “Right now it is not a major concern.”

Osceola winners included Cooper Haase (106), George Duncan (120), Adriel Martinez (152), LaQuavion Pinnellas (170), Nolin Eaddy (182), Dylan Ruiz (220) and Cody Carter (285).

In addition to Hines, Joseph Fernandez also will advance to regionals with a third place finish at 138.

Haase, a freshman, continues to impress at 106. He owns several wins over state ranked wrestlers this year and won his final with a 19-4 technical foul over George Jenkins Colt Brown.

Eaddy, 28-1 on the season, also picked up a pair of wins by pinfall, and will also be a favorite to win at regionals next week. George Duncan, a sophomore, also continued a solid campaign – going to 25-8 on the season – with a pin over Celebration’s Yan Paul Zayas in the finals.

The Celebration Storm, behind championship performances of Kyler Peraza (113), Jeremiah Cirino (138) and Elijah Sankitts (160), finished as district runnerups with 157.0 points, will also advance nine wrestlers to next week’s regional. Plant City (156), George

Plant City (156), George Jenkins (88), Winter Haven (55), Ridge Community (48) and Bartow (37.5) rounded out the scoring in the seven-team district competition.