Osceola schools earn state award for exemplary volunteer programs

  • Osceola County School District
    Osceola County School District

The Osceola School District has 56 schools that have qualified for the Golden School Award given by the Florida Department of Education in recognition of exemplary volunteer programs, which promote parent and community involvement in education.  To qualify for the Golden School Award, a school's total number of volunteer service hours must equal their student enrollment. 

The following Osceola schools have earned the 2019-20 Golden School Award:

Elementary: Boggy Creek, Central Avenue, Chestnut Elementary for Science and Engineering, Cypress, Deerwood, East Lake, Flora Ridge, Hickory Tree, Highlands, Kissimmee, Koa, Lakeview, Michigan Avenue, Mill Creek,  Narcoossee, Neptune, Partin Settlement, Pleasant Hill, Poinciana Academy of Fine Arts, Reedy Creek, St. Cloud, Sunrise, Thacker Avenue Elementary School for International Studies, and Ventura.

Middle: Denn John, Discovery Intermediate, Harmony, Horizon, Narcoossee, Neptune, Parkway, and St. Cloud.

Multi-Level: Celebration K-8, Harmony Community, Osceola County School for the Arts, Westside K-8, and New Beginnings.

High: Celebration, Gateway, Harmony, Liberty, NeoCity Academy, Osceola, PATHS, Poinciana, St. Cloud, and Zenith Accelerated Learning Academy

Charter: Bellalago Academy, Canoe Creek Charter Academy, Creative Inspiration Journey, Four Corners Elementary, Kissimmee Charter Academy, P.M. Wells Charter Academy, Renaissance Charter at Boggy Creek, and St. Cloud Preparatory.

"I am extremely proud of these schools for making family and community engagement a priority, which demonstrates a clear commitment to student support and a positive bond between home and school," said Superintendent Debra Pace.