Osceola County Commission selects Janer as new chairwoman

Osceola County commissioners selected Viviana Janer as chairwoman of the Osceola Board of County Commissioners for the upcoming year on Monday, effective immediately.

Janer represents Osceola County district 2, which includes Buenaventura Lakes and portions of the city of Kissimmee, including Lakeside and Mill Run. First elected to county office in 2014, Janer serves on numerous boards, including her current appointments as Osceola County representative on the Central Florida Commuter Rail Commission and the LYNX board of trustees.

“It is truly an honor to be selected as chairwoman by my fellow commissioners,” said Janer, who was also chair in 2016. “It is vital to maintain positive momentum and to keep Osceola County moving in the right direction as we will continue to improve the County’s infrastructure and better the lives of our citizens every day. And with our forthcoming green initiative, I feel certain that the quality of life for everyone will steadily improve.”

During the same meeting, district 4 Commissioner Cheryl Grieb was selected vice chairwoman. As outgoing chairwoman, Grieb said she was proud of all that was accomplished over the last 12 months.

“I feel like the county was able to move forward on its key initiatives and find the best solutions for all of our citizens,” said Grieb. “Among them we’re advancing work on priority roads in a way that has never been done. Residents will see those improvements sooner rather than later. We continued to build our economy with the opening of a new Class A office building at NeoCity. I look forward to continue working with Chairwoman Janer and our board to keep Osceola on the path to prosperity.”

For more information, contact the Osceola County Public Information Office at 407-742-0100.