Around Osceola
Osceola News-Gazette

Follow Us On:

Hawkins named chairman of Expressway Authority

Posted on Friday, January 12, 2018 at 10:27 am

Osceola County Commission Chairman Fred Hawkins, Jr. was unanimously elected Chairman of the Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX) Governing Board by his fellow board members.
Hawkins has served as a CFX board member since its creation in 2014 and has served as district 5 Osceola County Commissioner since 2008.
“I am honored to serve as the chairman of the 2018 Governing Board for the Central Florida Expressway Authority,” said Hawkins. “As a veteran member of this board, I am humbled to have played a part in guiding the development of some of the highest quality transportation infrastructure in the nation, creating local jobs and promoting smart growth for our region.”
At Thursday’s meeting, the board also unanimously elected governor-appointee board member CFO Golf Channel Jay Madara as vice-chairman and district 5 Seminole County Commissioner, Brenda Carey as treasurer.
The CFX Governing Board has seven local elected officials, representing the counties of Brevard, Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole, the city of Orlando, three governor appointees, and the executive director of Florida Turnpike Enterprise as a non-voting advisory member.